A Day at Bull Ring

This being one of my first articles, I thought I’d write about something close to my heart and truly enjoy doing. Nothing else but, shopping! The feminine gender’s pleasure and recipe for an instant spirit- lift.  I really can’t say the same for the male of our species though. “What could be as fascinating as shopping itself, (but not as much)?” I asked myself. “The people who shop, of course,” replied me. So off to Bull Ring I went, to “spy”, however impolite it may sound, on innocent shoppers and their quirks and man, was I dumbstruck at the diversity of them! I was surprised to see even males around and then realized they were essentially tagging behind their ladies, carrying either shopping bags or babies.

the window gazerTHE WINDOW GAZER-

She wanders around stores pressing her nose against the windows and stares at everything on display. She is the one who walks around inside stores, picks up clothes, holds them against herself and checks herself out in the mirrors. She is also the one who will try out all the pretty party dresses she likes in the fitting rooms. She does it all day and at all shops, but never actually buys anything.

the sale grabberTHE SALE GRABBER-

Come rain, sun, sleet or snow. Come what may. If there be a sale, Miss. Sale Shopper’s hawk-like nose will sniff it out a mile away and she will be there, one of the earliest of the early birds to pick up the “good stuff before it’s all gone”. And she is not a sucker to fall for the tricks of the marketing trade, because she has already seen a hundred bargains before arriving at the one she’s at.

lady flashLADY FLASH-

This one here, either has no time at all on her hands or she is the indulger with a well- lined pocket. Speedy walks into the store and her hands move in rapid action as they pick things off the shelf and throw them into her shopping cart/ bag. She doesn’t seem to have a list. I’m guessing she has it by-heart since checking items off consumes precious time. Unless if she’s the indulgent shopper, then she doesn’t need any lists. She buys everything her eyes fall on, everything she fancies.

Note: She might brush past you rudely or nudge you with her trolley, if you are in her way. Don’t glare! Don’t you understand she’s in a hurry?

the slothTHE SLOTH-

She glides into a store looking around with a vacant expression. “I’m alright,” she says to the enquiring sales assistant. Slowly, but systematically she goes down each aisle, choosing the things she wants. She ponders and contemplates. Apparently, she is someone with all the time in the sweet world and she makes sure she makes complete use of it.

Psstt.. She’s the one who always seems to be apologising to be in the way of the hasty shopper (or any other shopper in fact).

the shoppo-phobe

THE SHOPPO-PHOBE-

The name says it all. She is  an absolute shame to womankind. She may saunter in with friends who like shopping, but ultimately, boredom takes over and she sulks around, unable to fit in. All I hope for is that, one day, she will transform and that she too, will realise and rejoice in the pleasures of shopping. I have faith.

Keeping with the shopping theme, I thought I can put this up too. I found it on the net while browsing for something else.

2 thoughts on “A Day at Bull Ring

  1. Chitra says:

    Heheh this is brilliant! (I ❤ shopping too). Btw that comic strip is from xkcd.com, my favourite nerdy webcomic 😀

Leave a Reply

