The Saree- My Story

To start with, a mighty big thanks to all my lady friends all over the world, (some I know and some I don’t!) for the lightning speed responses I got on this one. No less credit should go to my dude-buddies who made their girlfriends take the survey for me! A friend in need is a friend indeed. I’m truly warmed to the last fiber in my body. Also, kudos to Facebook, for which I’ve found a novel use- Project work and assignments apart from the usual networking and socializing! Obviously, SurveyMonkey, the survey website, saved my day!

(For those who are clueless about what I’m ranting about, here’s the link-http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/SNN8JNG. You could still answer!)

NOTE:

Since the majority of the people who have answered my survey fall under the 21 to 26 years age bracket, my results drawn henceforth will be based on them alone.

I’ve inserted some pictures for your perusal for those who don’t know what is what.

Also, I have taken the survey myself, since I’m an Indian woman and I have a say in the matter as well.

Here are the survey stats:

  1. Of them, 72.2% are students, 22.8% are working (part-time or full time) and the remaining minuscule percentage are either housewives or currently unemployed. (I included the housewife section since many married women in India are housewives. Clearly, they don’t see the need to work since their menfolk earn enough!)
  2. I’ve had respondents of Indian origin, from India, as well as other countries-

~ United Kingdom

~ United States of America

~ Guyana

~ France

~ Spain

~ Malaysia

~ Singapore

~ Australia

– In an exactly (and surprisingly) equal number, this makes my result drawing process a lot easier. (This way I can easily estimate how the mind processes of Indians in India and abroad, work)

  • In the comfort area, Jeans has the maximum turnouts as being Extremely Comfy at 59.2% while the Saree rates highest in the Uncomfortable section with 49.3% The Salwar Kameez has equal turnouts for Extremely Comfy and Comfy, while the Skirt/ Dress has nothing significant.
  • Under practicality, Jeans (63.5%) and Saree (66.2%) have tied at the same score, with the former as Most Practical and latter as Impractical.
  • In a world that is turning more informal by the minute, Jeans has the most voters (76.5%) as Casual wear while the Sari (1.2%) has the least of the least. (There have been equal number of respondents for Salwar Kameez and Skirt/ Dress)
  • Jeans/ Pants rate highest (57.5%) as clothes for work or place of study, with the Salwar Kameez running close second (30%) while the Saree scores only a measly (1.3%).
  • For Special Occasions (marriages, festivals, and other important occasions) though, the scales tip towards the Saree with 40 respondents, while Jeans sees only 1 respondent out of a total of 81.
  • 51.3% respondents would wear a Saree only Occasionally and 38.8% Rarely, while none would wear a saree Always.
  • The Saree is the unbeatable Queen of Beauty in the Looks department where 46.9% think it is Very Attractive while 43.2% consider it The Most Gorgeous Garment in the World!

With these results, my thoughts have been sorted out and I can safely conclude (unbiased) that everybody loves the saree, be it an Indian or non- Indian, in literally any part of the world. But, the times are a-changing and so should we adapt ourselves to them. With the pace of the world quickening and women trying to be equal to men in all walks of life right from being computer engineers to being the president of a nation, it is unthinkable to do it all wrapped in six yards of fabric.

If you realised, I’m speaking contradictorily there. The President of India, Smt. (Indian for Mrs.) Pratibha Devisingh Patil, dons a saree all the time as well as manages to carry out her duties as a sincere President of India. (The President of India is the highest political post that can be held by a person. It is even higher than the Prime Minister) But our lifestyles play an important role here. They have a 101 ministers and servants at hand who can aid them in their day-to-day duties while we, common citizens should fend for ourselves. I’m not complaining, but these are the bare facts. They travel in luxury cars and first class flights. Imagine running to catch a bus or riding a bike to work, in a saree?

All with unassuming realism in mind, it is just not possible to go on with everyday life like rushing to university, running to cross a busy road, hastening home through pouring rain and so on and so forth, in a saree. Jeans reign in this context and the majority attire in them for comfort and practicality with high ambitions and aims to match the so- called “superior” potential of men.

This doesn’t mean the saree is endangered or extinct, since there are atleast a few in every generation who stick to a saree, no matter what may come. Besides, saree is the favourite of any Indian woman or girl when it comes to attire for special occasions and Indian festivals are full of colourful, vibrant sarees in different styles and cuts. (Sarees come in different trends too these days!) This way, the saree never goes and never will go into oblivion and we, (Indian women) will keep it living forever.

Oh, and for those who were wondering what my response to my survey was…

I picked jeans too…!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The Saree- My Story

  1. vaish says:

    hmm saree is uncomfortable during works !!!! i dont accept tat cos i been seen women workin in Rice field, Cattle(feedin n looking after cattles), Helping to lay roads, Helping to build houses, workin in offices, Riding bycycle n motorbikes wearing saree … If they can do al these things, its quit easy 4 em 2 change their dressin styles too but stil i m seein em doin all these with same attire … Its not easy 2 change the greatest attribute of one of the oldest culture in the world … More over men r not dominating , n all these wer jus made up by a group of potential-less women 2 attain benefits …

    • Madhumitha says:

      Vaishnu, you being a guy, I don’t know how the mantle of talking about a saree can fall on you. Moreover, you can only “think” you know everything about a saree, since I’m sure you would never ever have tried on 6 yards of fabric, yourself (now that would be something).
      All the activities that you’ve seen women doing are only because they’ve been used to it all their life. If you read my post properly, I’ve stated that I’m talking about the 21- 26 year olds who live in other traditional attire (they’re Indian too, you know) as well as jeans. By the way, I have a question. Why don’t I see you in dhoti/ lungi when I see men attired in them carrying out the same activities that you’ve just spoken about?
      I totally agree with you on your statement, “Its not easy 2 change the greatest attribute of one of the oldest culture in the world”, which is exactly how I’ve concluded my post. So no worries.
      I never mentioned men being “dominant”, but now that you have, I’d like to elaborate: in India, menfolk have always been the ones who earn the dough while women live by their home, heath and children. Now that women aspire to have the same abilities as men do, (since we have been liberalised), we need to attire the same way as they do too, in this age of the rat race.

      • Vaish says:

        i lik 2 wear dothis 🙂 being a malayali i often wear mundu … but its comfort .. n i agree being a boy i dont knw abt saree 😛 now u mentioned tat i dont lik 2 discuss women things again .. loll

Leave a Reply

